Lansdale Historical Society

Classic Hammer's Moving building was born as a Buick dealership in 1928

One of Lansdale's most interesting commercial structures celebrated a milestone birthday this past November. The Hammer's Moving and Storage, 810 West Main St., formally opened as Butler-Buick Company 75 years ago on November 10, 1928. The November 9, 1928 North Penn Reporter had this to say on the eve of the grand opening:

The keys to the Lansdale home of the Butler-Buick Company have been formally handed over to President C. S. Butler by designer and contractor, W. D. Lukens of North Wales.

Beginning tomorrow, the public is invited to inspect what is considered one of the most complete automobile sales and service (facilities) to be found in Eastern Pennsylvania.

The building, of Spanish design, is unique among the business structures of Lansdale. The outside has been intelligently landscaped, giving the building a setting that makes it perhaps the most attractive business place in the whole North Penn section.

The showroom is approximately 100 feet wide and 50 feet deep, and is finished in buff, rough plaster. The floor is of great flagstones, carefully selected for color and size.  A balcony at the rear breaks the broad wall space and is quite in keeping with the design of the building. Between the west windows, a fountain bubbles from the wall and the water falls into a tiled fish pond just above the floor level.

The room is designed to display effectively no less than II motor cars at one time. Ground was broken April 23.